酮症的機制

Jo Wong,王態科技研究員

我們在公司經常談論酮體和酮症,而且我們的產品會用酮體幫你監測燃燒脂肪的完整生化過程。我們如何與這個過程互動是我們公司獨一無二的原因。但它其實是什麼

簡單地說,酮症通常定義為我們的身體分解脂肪的過程,通常用作能量使用。當身體的碳水化合物和血糖水平低時,就會發生酮症。這導致身體將剩餘的糖分儲存給大腦,因為大腦不能使用脂肪酸,並導致身體增加酮症以燃燒脂肪獲取能量。

這個過程主要發生在肝臟中,通過生產酮體的過程,將較大的脂肪酸分解成較小,可以整合到身體現有的能量處理系統中的中間分子,這類分子中最重要的是乙酰輔酶A (Acetyl-CoA),它可以進一步分解成酮體,如乙酰乙酸和丙酮,可直接運輸到線粒體,在那裡它們可以整合到檸檬酸循環中,從此產生能量。

這個過程增加了血液中酮體的含量,因為這些酮分子都在肝臟中產生後通過血液擴散到全身,以便進一步產生能量。因此,當血液進入肺部進行充氧時,其中一些酮體作為副產品被分流到呼吸中,我們也可以在那裡檢測和測量它,從而讓我們對脂肪燃燒的速度有一個很好的了解。

Mechanism of Ketosis

Jo Wong, KPT Researcher

We talk about ketones and ketosis a lot in our company, and it is the integral biochemical process that burns fat that we monitor. How we interact with this process is what makes our company unique. But what is it?

Simply explained, ketosis is commonly defined as the process by which our body breaks down fats, usually for use as energy. Ketosis occurs when the body runs low on carbohydrate and blood sugar levels. This results in the body saving the remaining sugar for the brain, which can’t use fatty acids, and increases ketosis to burn fats for energy instead.

This process occurs mainly in the liver, through a process known as ketogenesis, where larger fatty acids are broken down into smaller intermediate molecules that can be integrated into the body’s existing energy processing systems. The most important of these molecules is known as Acetyl-CoA, and this is further broken down into ketone bodies like acetoacetate and acetone, which can be directly used in the mitochondria, where they can integrate into the citric acid cycle, producing energy.

This process increases the amount of ketone bodies found in the blood as these ketone molecules are produced in the liver and spread around the body for further energy production, and as a result, when the blood goes to the lungs to be oxygenated, some of those ketone bodies get shunted out into the breath as a by-product, where we can detect and measure them, thus giving us a good idea of the rate of fat burning.