糖尿病的兩種類型

Jo Wong,王態科技研究員

糖尿病是當身體失去控制胰島素產生的能力時發生的疾病。胰島素是一種激素或信使化學物質,它允許體內的細胞吸收並使用葡萄糖作為能量。在糖尿病患者中,身體脫敏或無法以其他方式將胰島素用於其預期目的,並且細胞逐漸失去使用糖分能量的能力。這會導致高血糖,從而導致無數其他並發症,例如口渴和飢餓感增加、視力模糊、疲倦和癒合緩慢。如果不加以控制,可能會發生糖尿病酮症酸中毒,由於無法代謝糖分,身體無法選擇,轉而燃燒脂肪來獲取能量——如果不治療,會導致體重迅速下降、昏迷和死亡。糖尿病主要分為 1 型和 2 型兩種,它們的表現相似,但根本原因卻大不相同。

1 型糖尿病是一種自身免疫性疾病,由於身體破壞胰腺中產生胰島素的 β 細胞,一個人失去了產生和調節胰島素的能力。為什麼會發生這種情況仍在研究中,但原因似乎至少部分是遺傳的。

Pancreatic Beta Cells, where insulin is produced.
產生胰島素的胰腺β細胞

2 型糖尿病或糖尿病是與大多數糖尿病病例相關的類型。 2 型糖尿病是由胰島素抵抗引起的,其中細胞逐漸脫敏並且無法對正常量的胰島素作出反應。這意味著對於一定量的胰島素釋放,身體的反應低於預期。這最終導致與未經治療的 1 型糖尿病和失控的脂肪燃燒相似的結果。

這兩種類型都用胰島素注射治療,並且是需要仔細控制飲食、運動和血糖和酮症酸中毒監測的長期管理問題。 王態科技在酮傳感器方面的發展使我們的產品可用於糖尿病監測。我們的酮傳感器可以監測糖尿病酮症酸中毒的呼吸,我們的產品可以幫助糖尿病患者控制飲食和體重。

The Two Types of Diabetes

Jo Wong, KPT Researcher

Diabetes is a disorder that occurs when the body loses the ability to manage insulin production. Insulin is a hormone, or messenger chemical, that allows cells in the body to take in and use glucose, a sugar, for energy. In diabetics, the body is desensitised or unable to otherwise use insulin for its intended purpose, and cells progressively lose the ability to use energy from sugars. This results in high blood sugar, which causes a myriad of other complications, such as increased thirst and hunger, blurry vision, tiredness, and slow healing. If left unchecked, diabetic ketoacidosis may occur, where the body runs out of options due to being unable to metabolize sugars and turns to burning fats to gain energy – which results in rapid weight loss, coma, and death if not treated. Diabetes is divided into two main types, types 1 and 2, which have similar manifestations, but has very different root causes.

Type 1 diabetes is an autoimmune disorder where a person loses the ability to produce and regulate insulin due to the body destroying the beta cells in the pancreas, where insulin is produced. Why this happens is still under study but causes appear to be at least partially genetic.

Pancreatic Beta Cells, where insulin is produced.
Pancreatic Beta Cells, where insulin is produced

Type 2 diabetes, or diabetes mellitus, is the type associated with the majority of diabetic cases. Type 2 diabetes is caused by insulin resistance, where cells are progressively desensitised and rendered unable to respond to normal amounts of insulin. This means that for a given amount of insulin released, the body’s response is lower than expected. This eventually results in similar results as untreated type 1 diabetes, and runaway fat burning. Both types are treated with insulin injections and are long term managed problems requiring careful control of diet, exercise and blood glucose and ketoacidosis monitoring.

King’s Phase Technologies’ developments in ketone sensors allows our products to be useful for diabetic monitoring. Our ketone sensors allow breath monitoring of diabetic ketoacidosis, and our product allows help in diet and weight control for diabetics.